How to Achieve Your New Year’s Resolutions….Or Not?

Hola Amigos!

And amigas? I don’t know. Clearly I didn’t learn much in the way of Spanish during my week in Mexico.

I’m sitting in the Acapulco airport as I type this, far too early for my flight, and really not ready to come home yet.

Would YOU want to leave this??

Would YOU want to leave this??

I had most of my posts for December written ahead of time. I had planned to write about goal-setting, and about how to really stick to your New Year’s resolution for today’s post.

But when it came time to write this during the week before I left, I really didn’t feel like it. What could I say that hasn’t already been said?

There are hoards of magazines articles, blog posts, & social media shares right now that are all goal-related. I know, because I’ve been reading them and sharing them all on my Facebook page.

And to be completely honest, I was so exhausted that I didn’t really feel like being all motivational and helping you “make 2015 your best year yet!!!!!!!!!!”

I thought I would wait until I was sitting in the airport after my vacation, as I am now, to spread the good goal-setting word and share some insight.

But now that I’m here, I’m at even more of a loss for words.

But in a good way.

This past week I was less stressed than I’ve been in over a year, despite having to choose between peeing in the ocean or paying to pee in a really shoddy bathroom and realizing I was totally not made for this travelling shit (again, in a good, totally out-of-my-element kind of way).

Right before "pee in the ocean or pee in the scary bathroom" episode

Right before “pee in the ocean or pee in the scary bathroom” episode

I smiled more than I have in weeks, despite having mild panic attacks as sting rays swam under me, starfish crawled on my hand, fish nipped my foot, and ocean water constantly made its way in my snorkel.

And my eye twitch was non-existent after my first day in Mexico, despite having Italian-crafted cappuccinos and cookies for breakfast every morning and espresso after lunch and dinner almost every day.

Nonna's cookies are an essential part of a balanced breakfast

Nonna’s cookies are an essential part of a balanced breakfast

I had an amazingly relaxing and enjoyable week with a family that welcomes me with open arms, despite their son/grandson/nephew and I refusing to get married πŸ˜‰

And while for a day or two I became saddened by the thought of going back home to my regular routines of work/workout/work/sleep or workout/work/work/sleep, I’m now determined to find a way to continue to make shit happen without killing myself in the process.

I’ve always been pretty big on the ol’ cliche “enjoy the process”, but in the weeks leading up to my vacation, I was openly following the “do as I say, not as I do” mantra.

Very little sleep, inconsistent eating schedule, way too much coffee, and far too little balance.

Am I right?

Am I right?

And now this is the time where I should be setting goals like a mad woman, creating my plans for world domination with the utmost detail. I should be telling you I can help you reach your goals and make this “your best year yet!”

And while yes, I think it’s important to have big things to work towards and a general plan to get there, and I’m of course more than pumped to help you devise that plan, I’m now more concerned about how you feel, and how I feel, on a day-to-day basis.

As we head into the last few days of 2014 I’m going to think about ways to continue the current trend of each year kicking slightly more ass than the last year, and I’m going to run a post-holiday special on training because that’s what personal trainers do.

But I’m also going to say that if setting New Years resolutions or goals stresses you out, then don’t do it.

Shocking, I know.

But I believe that deep down we know what we want in life, whether it’s this month, this year, or 10 years from now. You may not know it at first glance, but it’s in you somewhere.

While I may not be very good at living in the moment (I stress out FAR too much about things that have happened or things that might happen), I’m pretty good at determining if what I’m currently doing is conducive to what I want from life.

SO, while it may not be the conventional New Year’s advice, and while it still may leave some questions hanging over your head (but really, doesn’t all goal-setting advice do that?), my suggestion for you is this:

Take time to slow down, even if just for a moment. Ask yourself “is what I’m currently doing going to get me where I want to be?”

The answer may not always be yes, but that’s okay as long as you recognize it. We don’t need to be perfect human beings always working with purpose at all times.

But our purposes do guide us, and it’s important for us to recognize when we are and when we aren’t acting in accordance with them. By doing this, when things don’t totally work out as planned we can successfully look back and see where we went awry.

This also allows us to evaluate whether the things we initially thought were important to us are still important or not.

It’s not some “hot new way to make 2015 YOUR year”, but it’s realistic. And I’m all about keepin’ it real πŸ˜‰

So readers and friends, while I embark on this 14-hour journey home, travelling through airports where I can’t say anything in the predominant language except “bathroom”, “beer”, and “that’s too expensive”, (and did I mention I’m afraid of flying, especially when alone?), I’ll be thinking of things I’d like to accomplish, whether it’s in the next year or the next ten years.

And while I’ll have (hopefully) safely landed by the time you read this, I’d like to know what’s on your mind as 2014 comes to a close. (Spoiler alert: I survived!)

Are you setting any resolutions or goals? Stressed out because you aren’t and think you should be? Couldn’t care less? Share your thoughts below!

9 thoughts on “How to Achieve Your New Year’s Resolutions….Or Not?

  1. Great post Ariana!! Your vacation sounds like sooo much fun! I’m thinking about the new year and all of the things I wish to accomplish and work towards. I haven’t written out my list of goals and hopes just yet….I find myself day dreaming about 2015 and how I want to balance time between my schooling, my work, my education, my hobbies…and my family. I hope you had safe flight back!

    • Balance seems like it’s going to be a popular theme for many in 2015, myself included! Let me know if you ever want to have a little brainstorming session about how we can make everything we want happen while maintaining our sanity! πŸ™‚

      • Oh definitely!! That would be awesome! Today I’m going to sit down and write out my goals, see if they are possible, edit them and write them again!

  2. I hope you had a nice trip home! I’m heading to Florida tomorrow so I’ll be doing a little flying myself. As far as 2015, I’m going to try and be a bit healthier… no soda. no candy. no chips. yikes. We’ll see how it goes πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

