Get Fit Without Leaving Your Couch!

You know how I feel about sitting.

“It’s awful for our posture”

“It contributes to muscular imbalances that can have a hugely negative impact on our physical performance”

“Sitting is the new smoking!”

But I have a secret for you.

I’m a couch potato.

My time for couch-lounging is incredibly limited, but when I get the chance to sloth around you better believe I enjoy every second of it.

I’m not sure what it is about the couch. One of my most favourite things in the world is getting to sleep on the couch while my boyfriend stays up way too late playing video games.

I have fond memories of my mom, my dad andย a 5-year old me all sleeping on the giant sectional couch we used to have. I’m not one for curling up on the couch with a book, but toss me a bowl of popcorn and the remote and I’m a happy camper.

Now obviously binge-eating on the couch in front of the TV isn’t very conducive to a healthy life. Neither is falling asleep on the couch every night. But we can’t deny that those things can be DAMN COMFY, and sometimes there’s nothing better than some couch–slothing.

EXCEPT COUCH FITNESS.

What if I told you you could laze around on the couch AND make that hot bod of yours even more sexy???

Believe it or not, you can get a fantastic workout without leaving the couch! It’s a great tool for a variety of exercises, and you can make a lot of fun fitness games with the television.

Let’s start with some strength training couch exercises.

The couch is a great tool for making push-ups a little easier:

Incline Push-up with Couch

Or a little harder ๐Ÿ˜‰ :

Decline Push-Up with Couch

You can do regular squats with a couch:

Couch Squats

Or everybody’s favourite….split squats!

Split Squats with Couch

Try some couch glute bridges to make that booty really burn:

Couch Glute Bridge

Or some couch V-sits to set those abs on fi-ya:

Couch V-Sits

Now if you really want to make things interesting, make a game out ofย watching TV. Pick a couple of exercises, match them up with a certain type of commercial, and get sweaty during commercial breaks!

For example, every time a fast food commercial comes on you could do jumping jacks. Every time a car commercial comes on you could do mountain climbers. Pick a commercial that REALLY annoys you (for me it’s every single Subway commercial) and do burpees during the whole thing so you dislike it even more.

The average 30-minute sitcom has approximately 10 minutes of commercials. If you moved during every single commercial break that’s 10 of the recommended 30 minutes of activity down the hatch!

How about those TV shows you binge watch? Come on, I know there’s something. Walking Dead? Game of Thrones? Orange is the New Black (my current fav)? These shows are great because there are a lot of predictable things that are going to happen.

You know someone in Walking Dead is going to get eaten alive. You know there’s going to be girl on girl action during Orange. And I’ve never watched Game of Thrones, but you know something that usually happens is going to happen.

So all you Orange is the New Blacks fans, this is your lucky day! Since this is mine and Jordan’s current show of choice I put together a little workout for while we watch it, and today I’m going to share it with you! Some evenings are really heavy on the squats which can be difficult immediately after dinner, but it gives us something to laugh about ๐Ÿ™‚

Orange is the New Black Workout

So there you have it! A variety of ways to get fantastically fit without having to leave your living room. And you thought getting fit was hard ๐Ÿ˜‰

Do you have any living room workouts you’re a fan of? Any fun ways of using your couch to get fit you’d like to share? Comment below and tell me!

 

6 thoughts on “Get Fit Without Leaving Your Couch!

Leave a Reply

