GUEST POST – The Paleo Diet Won’t Make You Healthy

Hey everyone!

Today I’ve got a great guest post from a fellow Sweat Pink Ambassador, Sara!

I often get people asking me my thoughts about the Paleo diet, and while I have my opinions, it’s not something I’ve ever really done so I can’t talk a whole lot about it besides what the research says.

Sara has had an amazing experience with exercising and focusing on real food and has lost 100 pounds!! Go Sara! Today she’s going to talk about the Paleo diet and how focusing on that alone isn’t going to make you healthy.

Take it away, Sara!

 

Paleo is everywhere right now. I hate to use the word craze but I think the shoe fits.  My decision to give it a try was not based on the desire to lose weight or become leaner, although both of those things have happened. My curiosity was based on the fact that I was struggling with poor health and desperate to find a solution.

I was hesitant and even a little skeptical. But I was sick and tired of being sick and tired all the time. I had heard about people who had seen great improvement in their auto-immune conditions when they had switched to a paleo diet so I gave it a try. Six months later, my health problems have disappeared and I feel amazing.  So obviously, I’m a believer in the paleo diet and it’s benefits.

But for every person that sees the positives in the paleo diet, there’s 1 (or more) that thinks it’s bunk. It’s a craze, a fad, and has no scientific data to support it’s alleged benefits. Critics say that it’s not a health-conscious lifestyle and that it leads to poor nutrition

Here’s the truth: You can ‘be paleo’ and eat bacon all day long but no one in their right mind would consider that to be healthy. Delicious, yes. Healthy, no.  Like most things in life, there’s a right way and a wrong way to do it.

Just like you can eat nothing but donuts and cheese puffs and say you’re a vegetarian, you can be paleo and have very poor nutrition.  Simply cutting out all the things that aren’t part of the paleo diet will NOT make you healthy. Good nutrition makes you healthy. It’s always been that way and it will always be.

Paleo Diet InfographicSource

Cutting sugar from your diet will improve your health.

Cutting processed foods and chemicals from your diet will improve your health.

Eating more fruits and vegetables will improve your health.

Even critics would agree that those things are true. All things that happen when you approach the paleo diet with good nutrition in mind.  Following the paleo diet CAN make you healthy. You just have to do it right.

So where should you start?  My advice is pretty simple: get to know what foods are not part of the paleo diet – but focus more on what IS part of the paleo diet. Focus on vegetables and fruit, lean meats, & healthy fats. Toss the chips, eat more smoothies. Eat the rainbow (fruits and vegetables in a variety of colors). Get in the kitchen and experiment with recipes.

Here are a couple of my favorite resources to help you get started:

Paleo Mom
The Ultimate Paleo Guide

Sara Evanchick

Sara Evanchick is a busy mom that finally decided to take charge of her health!  Using real food and exercise, she has lost over 100 pounds and overcome several serious health problems. Now she works to inspire and motivate others on their quest for a healthy life.  She recently released a health journal called: EAT WELL. SWEAT OFTEN. It can be purchased here: http://saraevanchick.com/product/eat-well-sweat-often/ and you can connect with her on Facebook.

5 thoughts on “GUEST POST – The Paleo Diet Won’t Make You Healthy

  1. Love this! It’s so true I think people think hey if I eliminate all this stuff I can still eat all the junk and be healthy! It’s so important to give our bodies proper nutrition and real food.

  2. Love this! It’s so true, I think so many people think hey if I eliminate all of that stuff I can eat all the junk still and be healthy! It’s so important to focus on giving our bodies good nutrition and real food.

Leave a Reply

