Fall Fitness Fridays Week 5

Hey everyone!

I hope you’ve all had a great week so far. This week has been crazy busy for me (isn’t every week?) with some ups and downs, but overall it’s been good.

Fall Fitness Friday

This week didn’t go quite as planned with workouts, but here’s how it went:

Sunday: Went bouldering for Fit Chick Frolic. It was so fun! It had been a little over a year since I’d last gone, and I forgot how challenging it was! Not only does it take some substantial strength to climb up a wall without any ropes, it also take some patience to figure out the “problems”, which is what the different routes are called.

Some were fairly easy, but some were TOUGH. And frankly, I don’t know if I have enough patience for that 😉 Oh, and don’t forget fearlessness. It helps when you’re 10 feet above ground and decide to look down!

Monday: 45-minute spin class. Still kicked my butt just as hard as last week!

Tuesday: …..nadda. Tuesday was a pretty rough day. I had a lot of work I needed to do and not a lot of time to do it. I had initially planned on just shortening my workout. Then as time went on I figured I could skip the gym and do a workout at home.

Thennnn I had to make the decision: what would be worse? Not getting some work done and being stressed out but fitting in a quick workout to burn off some of that stress? Or skipping my workout in favour of getting more work done, which would leave me feeling less-than energized and kinda pissed off?

Skipping my workout in favour of more work one. Usually I’m pretty big on breaking up the work day with SOME activity, even if it’s just 10 minutes. I’m a firm believer that it boosts our productivity and our creativity, however sometimes no matter what you do time just won’t allow.

I’d say that for as jam-packed as my schedule has been the past year, my track record for fitting exercise in has been pretty good, so I’ll let it slide this time 😉

Wednesday: Heavy full body workout consisting of squats, split squats, bench presses, shoulder presses, chin-ups, and push-ups. All the basics and some of my favourites. This was only the second time in the past few months that I’ve squatted anything heavier than 45lb and these legs are still feelin’ it today!

Thursday: Another jam-packed day, but this time I managed to fit in about 20 minutes of yoga and some stretching. I also walked a lot and saw my RMT, so even though I didn’t actually work my muscles, my upper body still feels like it took a beating.

Today: I’ve got another full-body workout planned today, this time a little on the lighter side and focusing more on stability. I used to think my ability to pop my shoulder out of its socket was a cool party trick, but I’ve now realized that it’s not very conducive to throwing a barbell over my head if I want to get started on some Olympic lifts.

So I’m working on things like windmills, Turkish get-ups, and some basic shoulder packing to get that rotator cuff nice and strong. I may never be able to fully prevent it from popping out, but at least I won’t have to worry doing basic overhead presses.

Tomorrow: I’ve got another round of Cross-Training for Runners to begin teaching and I plan on doing a few sprints in the morning.

That’s all I’ve got this week! This will be my last Fall Fitness Fridays so next week we’ll be getting back to our regularly-scheduled Fit Tip Friday. I’ve you’ve got a fitness question ask below so I can answer it in an upcoming post!

Did you fit in your 10 minutes of daily activity this week? If so, what did you do? If not, what stopped you?

7 thoughts on “Fall Fitness Fridays Week 5

    • Wow, congrats on your marathon! I have a feeling I would probably take a three-week break as well 😉 Do you have any other races in the near future you’re currently training for? Maybe switching up your routine a little bit will help you get your motivation back!

Leave a Reply

