Guest Post – Making a Commitment

I’ve got a special post for you today!

A little while ago one of my friends and clients approached me about writing a post for my blog. She had been documenting her journey of training with me – making note of things she was eating, how she was feeling, what extra activities she was doing, etc. She wanted another layer of accountability and I was more than happy to have her share her experience so far.

What she ended up sending me was so different from what I had expected. While I was expecting a pretty straightforward recap, what I received was an honest and raw account of her journey and a commitment to continue.

Deana has been battling a lot of struggles during our time together, but no matter how things turn she never gives up. She is an inspiration and I’m so happy I’m able to walk along her journey with her.

I always recommend saying goals out loud to other people – it makes them real. If sharing your goals and making a commitment to yourself on a platform as public as a blog doesn’t make them real, I don’t know what does.

So thank you, Deana, for sharing your experience and your commitment to your goals with us. Here’s what Deana has to say:

Making a Commitment

“I wish I was one of those people that could say that I loved working out, “I love working out! It makes me feel so great and if I miss a day I feel so awful.”  Nope. That’s not me. I need rest and relaxation. I want to be cared for and pampered. I do not want to over exert myself in a dirty gym. But, I do want to be healthy and strong.

I have multiple challenges to overcome: I am overweight, have arthritis, have fibromyalgia, and I have been diagnosed bi-polar. These may all be related. Exercise is supposed to kick start those serotonin hormones to make me feel more energized but it doesn’t.

In fact I often feel worse when I exercise. My body gets pains and strains and I get over emotional and want to hide in the change room and cry. Then, go find comfort in a warm cup of coffee and a cozy chair where I can be alone with my own thoughts.

I still have hope that one day this will all change and I will wake up feeling pumped to work out and the gym will become a part of my life that I can’t live without. So, I see Ariana once a week. I need her every day but until I am living in the South of France with Jonny, I can’t afford a daily trainer any more than I can a personal shopper. So, once a week I go.

I have been seeing Ariana for coming up to a year. My goal was to get in good enough shape to buy a bikini for my 35th birthday. That came and went this past June. I still don’t own a swimsuit of any kind. So, next year, 36 will be the year. Possibly. So, that’s what I haven’t accomplished.

Working Hard

Here’s what I have accomplished; I started out this journey barely able to walk up and down stairs and so depressed that I thought I would be in a wheel chair in a few years and all alone (not even a cat to keep me company- Hate cats, by the way)

Now, almost a year later, I can run up and down my stairs, I can get out of bed in the morning without crying and spending 30 minutes rubbing and massaging my hips and ankles just to get to the bathroom before my 20 minute bladder gives up on me.

I can wear anything I want to including things that involve tying and buckling, I can hold my coffee cup by the handle instead of a two handed cradle and I feel more connected to my body- I am comfortable inside myself again. I still have bad days but they are fewer and farther apart.

I couldn’t have got here without some seriously attentive assistance. Enter: Ariana.

Ariana is so supportive and intuitive. She knows when to push you and when to back down and let you have your moment. She gives me weekly work out assignments so I can alternate home and gym time and I can walk into the gym feeling like I know what I am doing. She provides meal and supplement recommendations.

And really helpful tips which are the result of her not letting me make excuses ie: I don’t have time to prep all the vegetables to make smoothies in the morning and it all goes bad in my fridge, blah blah blah= Ariana’s advice to prep all my veg and fruit on one day and measure out into daily smoothie amounts to be frozen.

Voila- I have a freezer full of ziplock bags, one for each day with kale, parsley, spinach, bananas and berries all ready to toss in the blender with a little almond milk. Could have thought of that on my own but didn’t 😉

Ariana is also a huge inspiration. She is the living reality of her goals and ideals. She has chosen a lifestyle and is working towards living it and helping other to live it as well. I quit drinking two months ago and it’s been a challenge, to say the least. It has been a very tumultuous time as alcohol is a crutch and a very socially encouraged one.

You have to say goodbye to the booze, the excuses, the time wasted and some of the friends, too. Ariana has over come this challenge in her quest for vitality and has been a constant light to look up to during my own personal lifestyle alterations.

Still, I have far to go. But, where I am now, I can stand up and take responsibility for my life, my happiness and my health.  In order to keep my personal goals I pledge to follow my work-outs each week as directed and keep accountable for my physical and mental decisions.

I recognize I cannot succeed without a true commitment to the end result and the process between. I look forward to battling the challenges ahead and can’t wait to wear my 36th year bikini.”

Thank you so much Deana for being so open with us! Anyone feeling inspired enough to talk about some of the struggles they’ve experienced during their own health and fitness journeys? Any successes despite those struggles you’d like to share? Let’s keep the inspiration goin’!

 

12 thoughts on “Guest Post – Making a Commitment

  1. I love this post. The vulnerability that is shown is really awesome. I love when people see how much they’ve grown over time. I’m also a person that gives the excuse, I don’t have time to make smoothies. So I’m interested in hearing more about the get all your items and break them out into ziploc bags! Maybe it’s posted on this site??

    • Thank you Kelly, I loved Deana’s openness as well. And you are so right – sometimes we can get so caught up in how far we have to go that we forget to look at how far we’ve come!

      I don’t have a post about the smoothie bags yet – it’s coming next week, so stay tuned 😉

Leave a Reply

