Fall Fitness Fridays Week 4 + Local Updates

Helloooooo!!!

I have far too much energy for 6am but I am just SO excited about all of the different things going on right now!

Before I get into the juicy stuff with Fall Fitness Fridays, I wanted to update you local readers about a few different things that are going on right now.

#1. Fit Chick (and Man!) Frolic: Bouldering Edition

This Sunday we are heading to The Hive for some indoor bouldering! Typically I keep Fit Chick Frolic’s as women’s-only events, however bouldering is just so much fun and I knew of a couple men that wanted to join so I decided to open the invitation to everyone. We’ll be meeting for an evening climb at 4pm – if we can get 10 of us we qualify for a group rate!

If you’re in the Vancouver area and would like to climb around some falls, connect with some great people, and get a few little goodies at the end, give me a shout! You can see the Facebook Event Page here.

#2. Cross-Training for Runners is back for a second round!

Tomorrow is the last of the first round of classes, and I’m so happy the participants are wanting to continue! The session will begin on November 15 and will run until January 3. There will be no class on December 6 so we can participate in the Santa Shuffle 5k! And we will be taking December 27 off for Christmas. Unless anyone wants me to teach the class from Mexico via Skype 😉

The class focuses on strength and cardio intervals to strengthen both the muscles and the cardiovascular system. We focus on upper body and core strength, as well as the not-so-fun but oh-so-important exercises for the hips like clam shells and glute bridges. We finish off with an extended stretch and some myofascial release with tennis balls to work out all the kinks.

It is $49 for six weeks of classes. You can see a little video I put together for the class here. The class caps at 10 and spaces are already filling up, so if this is something you would be interested in hit me up!

#3. Discount code for Healthy Anger Academy. 

I was recently contacted about the Healthy Anger Academy, which will be taking place here in Vancouver beginning November 19 for three weeks. In this course you will learn what the real source of your anger is, how to express your feelings in other ways, and to gain control of your reactions to negative situations.

The ultimate goal is to improve your relationships, your communication, and your well-being.

This seems like a really great course and is something I wish I had known about a few years earlier. I could have saved a lot of growing pains 😉 Mental health is such a critical aspect of our overall health; if we can gain control over our emotions then when things don’t go as planned during our fitness & weight loss journeys or progress is slower than we’d like, we can continue to keep our sanity as we work towards our goals.

If this sounds like something you would be interested in, you can use my discount code ArianasBlog to receive $50 off the program. For more information about the Healthy Anger Academy you can click here.

Fall Fitness Friday

Alright, now onnnnn to the Fitness stuff! I’m linking up with some of my awesome Sweat Pink sisters with the challenge to be active for at least 10 minutes every day. Check out what they’re up to here:

Nora at Adventures of a Mother-Daughter Running Duo
Kristen at Exploring Domesticity
Brandi at Noteworthy Running
Michelle at Fearless Beauty Fitness
Kathy at Mama Marathoner
Diane at Runnin Rocker
Alicia at Never Ever Been Skinny

This week was a great week. I’ve got my mojo back and am ready to ramp up my fitness game for the winter! I’ve got my goals in mind and am excited to tackle them and try out a few different things.

Here’s how my week went:

Sunday: 1.5 hours of lifting at the gym. I focused on the big movements: front squats, bench presses, shoulder presses, chin-ups, push-ups, and some accessory work. I finished off with some sprints. This was the first time in about six weeks that I’d lifted anything heavier than 15lb and squatted anything heavier than 45lb so you best believe I was feelin’ it on Monday!

Monday: 45-minute interval ride spin class. Holy crap I felt like I was going to die. I LOVE spin class but it’s TOUGH. I had to talk myself through a lot of the intervals, and for some I just shut my eyes and hoped it would be over soon 😉

Tuesday: Rest day but I still did the hip-strengthening exercises from my chiropractor which took about 15 minutes.

Wednesday: Full body workout. I picked 6 exercises, set a timer for 25 minutes, and did as many rounds as possible to keep my heart rate up. This was done with moderate weights so I could maintain my form with minimal rest. I finished off with 10 minutes of abdominal work and some rotator cuff strengthening.

Thursday: 1 hour of hot yoga

Today I’ve got another full body workout planned. It’ll be a short one in between clients; I’m thinking CrossFit style with a mile run and a few exercises. Tomorrow I have my class and a couple clients so I will most likely only have time for my hip exercises.

How about you? How did you get sweaty this week? Are you finding it difficult to be active for 10 minutes every day? Anything fun planned for the weekend?

4 thoughts on “Fall Fitness Fridays Week 4 + Local Updates

Leave a Reply

