Krokodile Pear: New Juice on the Block

A little over a year I bought a juicer.

I saved up all my Starwood SPG points so I could redeem them for Williams Sonoma gift certificates, and I hoarded all my work incentives for more gift certificates. I did my research and decided the Breville Dual-Disc Juicer would satisfy my juicing needs – I’d be able to juice soft fruits, hard vegetables, and greens. I envisioned myself becoming a juicing goddess, living a life filled with mason jars of nutrients.

But my poor Breville just sits on my counter collecting dust. It’s incredibly loud. And kind of a pain in the ass to clean. And I never realized how many fruits and vegetables you actually need to get a decently-sized glass of juice! I was horrified when I pressed a head of kale through the chute and was rewarded with only a tablespoon of dark green liquid.

I was then informed I had to save a couple of leaves, wrap the pulp in the leaves, then feed it through the chute again. Then repeat the process another time in order to get maximum kale juiciness.

And frankly that’s just way too much work. So despite this giant silver monster sitting on my counter, I continue to spend 8-9 dollars on cold-pressed juice at juice bars.

I have a few favourites in the area, but I was so excited when I saw Krokodile Pear was opening a location downtown, which conveniently is on my way to the hotel.

Krokodile Pear Yaletown

Krokodile Pear serves cold-pressed juices on tap. How cool is that?! By using a cold-press juicer, they are able to retain more nutrients and live enzymes because they aren’t denatured like they can be from the heat from a centrifugal juicer.

Centrifugal juicers, which is what I have, use a fast-spinning blade to chop the fruits and vegetables. This exposes them to more oxygen, which results in nutrient loss, and creates heat which, as I just mentioned, denatures the live enzymes.

On the other hand, cold-press juicers, as their name implies, press the fruits and vegetables to extract their juice without adding any heat or oxygen. The result is a pure, nutrient-dense juice.

Nick from Krokodile Pear was nice enough to hook me up with one of their signature green juices, the Pacific Spirit.

Krokodile Pear Pacific Spirit

Packed with nutrients, the Pacific Spirit balances the slight bitterness of the greens with the sweetness of the apple, and the ginger adds a great bite. The texture was smooth without any leafy bits, and a quick shake had everything mixed back up within seconds. Sometimes green juices can look a little scary as they begin to separate, but that wasn’t the case with the Pacific Spirit.

Pacific Spirit Krokodile Pear

Besides the delicious taste, what I liked the most about this juice was that it came in a cute mason jar! When I have juice I like to take my time drinking it, so I can really take in those flavours and extend the party in my mouth for as long as possible. By serving their juices in reusable mason jars, Krokodile Pear ensures your juice can travel with you without any worry of spilling.

Besides, I can never get enough mason jars 😉

The store is bright and beautiful. I felt cleansed just by walking in! They have a small selection of high quality snacks available for the health conscious individual, most of which are produced right here in Vancouver. I can’t wait to try out the Nud Fud raw crackers – they had some delicious-looking flavours.

Krokodile Pear Yaletown

 

Coolers filled with rows of yellow juices, orange juices, deep red juices, green juices, and nut milks are front and centre when you walk in. In addition to their bottled juices, they also sell mini juice shots and blended juices. I have a feeling this is going to be a regular stop on my way to work. And the yoga studio I’ve recently started visiting is just around the corner….how convenient! 😉

If you’re downtown and are feeling a little lacking in nutrients, or are just looking for a delicious treat your body can feel good about, visit Krokodile Pear at the corner of Davie and Richards. Maybe I’ll see ya there!

Are you a fan of juicing, or does the green juice thing scare you? Ever done a cleanse before? Have any favourite juice recipes you think I need to know about?

7 thoughts on “Krokodile Pear: New Juice on the Block

  1. I used to be a fan of juicing (before it was hip). I drank so much carrot juice I actually turned orange, my grandma thought I had jaundice. Can’t stomach the stuff now. Never done a cleanse, those scare me. I tried once for 12 hours and thought I might die so that was the end of that too.

  2. I was a fan of juicing but now sadly it just sits there and like yours just collects dust. :p Krokodile Pear sounds like a great place. Wish there was a juicing place like that by me.

    • If I had all day to wash my vegetables and juice them and then clean the juicer I would probably juice a lot more..but such is life!

      Are there no juice bars around where you live? If not, someone needs to step up to the plate! It’ll be a gold mine!

  3. WOW, I wish we had one of these locally. I have ths same fear of buying a juicer, too much work. I’m a busy mom like most ladies and the idea of juicing is great, but the clean up and amount of veggies/fruits you go through is in credible. Thanks for posting#BLTribe

    • Yes it’s a lot of work for busy moms! Smoothies would be great for you – I often will chop up my fruit & veggies, put them in a ziploc bag, and then freeze them so they’re ready to go whenever!

      Thanks for the love! 🙂

Leave a Reply

