100 Blog Posts – Things I’ve Learned + a Roundup of Some of My Favourite Posts

100 blog posts!

That’s a lot of words. A lot of photos. A lot of time spent staring blankly at the computer screen not knowing what to write.

It’s a lot of time initially spent hiding my writing. A lot of time wondering what people I knew would think when I made my first post public. A lot of time trying to “fit in” with the blog world and figure out how to get a hold on this beast that is a blog.

Since starting this blog I’ve gone from being interested in health and fitness, to taking the leap to follow my dream of becoming a Personal Trainer, to working my way through the certification process, to where I’m currently at with building my Personal Training business.

In this time I’ve learned I’m more capable than I give myself credit for when it comes to crossing things off my to-do list. I rekindled my love for writing, and realized that people don’t care quite as much about what I have to say as I thought, and that opening up to the internet world is slightly less horrifying than I thought it would be. But only slightly 😉

Congratulations to MeSource

I’ve gone from blogging for fun, to blogging for the sake of sharing knowledge, to blogging as a potential secondary source of income (or at least trying to), to back to blogging for fun.

Since becoming a Sweat Pink Ambassador and joining such a large blogging network I have learned a TON about the intricacies of post-writing, blog design, traffic generation, post promotion, and a million other things I didn’t know existed when I wrote my first post slightly less than two years ago.

I admit, it’s been kind of mind-boggling seeing other women in this network who have been blogging for far less time than I have but have WAY more traffic and are actually making money from their blogs! I’ve tried a few different things to boost my traffic, and while it’s definitely grown, I’m nowhere near the “1000 page views per day” I read about online.

It’s almost like when I first started out on my fitness journey and was looking up to all these “fitspo” accounts on Instagram. I was trying to do what they were doing, so why wasn’t I as shredded with super defined abs? It made me wonder what I was doing wrong.

Thankfully it didn’t take me long to move on from that mindset when it came to my fitness, and I haven’t spent too much time dwelling on what I’m doing “wrong” with my blog either. Just like some people have time to prep every meal to the ounce, workout as long as needed and sleep as much as possible so they can get totally ripped, other people have a lot more time to research topics for posts, write posts and create “Pin-able graphics” (whoever thought that would actually be a term?) and promote their posts than I do.

A lot of these women are stay-at-home moms and depend on their blog as a second source of income. I’m sure if I had that motivation behind me I’d have a pretty kickass blog myself 😉

But between my first source of income, my second source of income, working to build my business, keeping up with my own training AND trying to maintain at least a little bit of a personal life, working to build a totally kickass blog comes in at the bottom of my “important stuff” list. It’s still on that list and I still love to write and will continue to do so, but I’m not kicking myself in the pants when I don’t get 1 million shares plus a few thousand comments. Although I wouldn’t object if that started happening 😉

I have visions of what I would like my blog to be in the future – a place where I can be myself, share health and fitness knowledge, share the weird random things that seem to happen to me on an almost daily basis, and connect with strangers and people close to me when they respond to the questions I write at the end of my posts.

I can see what I want my blog to look like, what kind of ads I’d have placed on it (obviously all food), and how I plan to have it generate some steady cash for me.

But I also have a vision about what I want my Personal Training business to look like. I have ideas for projects I want to put into action, I have goals I need to crush in the gym, and I have a boyfriend who I love and already see so rarely that I can’t imagine setting aside three hours on our only day off together to create Pin-teresting blog graphics.

About a month ago someone commented on one of my Instagram photos and said “Just do you, booboo.”

Yes x 1000.

I’m going to continue trying to post more than once each week. I’m going to continue writing posts for other peoples’ blogs, and I’m going to continue inviting others to write on my own blog. I’m going to interview people when I have time, share links when I find something useful to share, and take a crappy food picture and post a recipe along with it when I feel the need.

I’m going to continue to make this an unorganized, visually-unappealing, yet informative and hopefully sometimes funny space that I can call mine on this thing called the inter-webz. I’m going to stop trying to figure out what everyone else is doing and how I can do it too. Because that’s just not me!

So friends, I thank you for taking the time to read this open and seemingly pointless post, plus the other 99 posts that are on this thing! When I got my first “Like” on my first post I thought it was the coolest thing in the world. It was one of those WordPress spam accounts but that didn’t matter. Some robot took the time to hit that “Like” button.

I still think it’s so awesome when my posts receive new likes and comments from not only strangers but also people I know from my daily life. I feel like I’ve gotten to “know” many bloggers just by reading about their lives, even if I only know them by their blog name. There is such a vast world of awesome people out there, and blogging and social media is bringing us all together! So whether this is your first time reading my blog or you’ve been here multiple times before, I want to say thank you!

I kid ;)

I kid 😉

Source

To celebrate 100 posts, I’ve rounded up a few of my favourites for your reading pleasure 😉 One day I’ll go through and touch up the especially crappy photos, maybe remove the word “fuck” from posts that have it more than 5 times, and improve the spacing on my posts. Or maybe I’ll just hire my assistant to do that when I have my empire 😉

Lover of Food? Or Plagued by an Eating Disorder? A look at Binge Eating Disorder and how it’s NORMAL to overeat now and then.

Survival of the Fittest How my gym sessions helped me survive a wild bee attack, plus a delicious post-bee attack treat.

Vega Pumpkin Pie Smoothie What does someone who’s paranoid about getting food stuck in tooth extraction sockets do? Eat a lot of soup and smoothies.

Fit Tip Friday: Sleep! The importance of sleep and how a lack of it can mess with yo’ game. This is especially near and dear to my heart, because I STILL go through phases of “sleep is for the weak” and “I need sleep in order to perform my best!”

My 2-Year Fitversary Two whole years since I made the decision to stop drinking and start going after what I wanted in life.

Fit Tip Friday: How to Create a Workout Schedule The post that still consistently gets traffic, and for good reason! Having goals you want to crush is no good if you can’t find the time to do so!

Fit Tip Friday: Eating Fat Doesn’t Make You Fat Time ti let go of the fear of fat and embrace the nut butters, the avocados, the salmon, and the coconut oil. And bacon. Embrace bacon.

Iced Coffee Lovin’  My favourite way to prepare my morning brew during the warmer months.

Inspiring Humans: Richard Maya One of my favourite recent posts in which I interview my crazy inspiring Instagram friend turned real life friend Richard Maya.

So my fellow bloggers, I have to ask…do you ever find yourselves playing the comparison game when you read other blogs? Do you ever feel self-conscious about your blog, or am I just totally weird? And for you non-bloggers, when you find yourself playing the comparison game in other areas of your life, how do you fight to win?

14 thoughts on “100 Blog Posts – Things I’ve Learned + a Roundup of Some of My Favourite Posts

  1. Hi Ariana!
    I love this post, and I definitely share your feelings on a lot of what you’ve discussed. I also had a lot of fun looking through your “fave” posts – thanks for sharing! 🙂 I just started my blog last week and I’m really excited that I’ve found an outlet for writing outside of my technical, science-y career. It’s easy, I find, to compare yourself to others. When I see how many followers/likes other, more established bloggers have, it’s a little overwhelming. How did they get there? Do I even really care? I think it’s a tough barrier to break through to share your innermost thoughts/feelings with a faceless, nameless internet. So, not weird at all. I’m with you. I look forward to see what you write next!
    With warmth,
    L

    • Thanks for such a thoughtful comment! I’m glad blogging allows you to spark the creative flame inside you 🙂 And I’m also happy to hear someone else shares the same thoughts!

      I’m pretty competitive and like to go full force into any task I undertake, so it can be a challenge to resist the urge to spend hours figuring out how to master everything. But in doing that I’d have less time for writing actual posts I think!

  2. I love reading your posts and if I lived in Van I’d hit you up for one of your adventures. Being the slightly competitive person that I am I do find myself comparing my blog to others. I get over myself though as I just don’t have the time to put into it that I’d like to.

    • Thank you! If you’re ever making a trip down let me know and if I have something going on I’d love to have you!!

      I agree, it’s such a time-consuming process. Your hands are far too full with that awesome animal pack of yours anyway 😉

  3. Hi Ariana,

    I swear I have read all your blogs and always looking forward to read them. You remind a lot of my sister, a dream chaser who’s always making sure that what she does have positive impacts on others and fulfill her purpose in life. You’re like a little gem that’s still hard to be found but keep up the good works and you will find your way to success. I sincerely believe you’ve matured beyond your age.

    Thanks for all the encouragement and inspiration from far.

    Lien

    • Ah! I have a big virtual hug I’m sending your way 🙂 Thank you so much for your kind words. I really appreciate your support and am happy you enjoy reading these posts! I will do my best to ensure they don’t disappoint in the future!

      If you ever take a trip out to Vancouver I hope we get the opportunity to meet!

  4. You are seriously awesome and I love each and every one of your posts that I have read. You are super informative and extremely knowledgable and I love that you share that with your readers! Congrats on 100 blog posts….here to 100’s more! 😀

  5. Congrats on 100 posts! Just found your blog thru the SweatPink link love. Have to say that I totally agree with just doing you. It took a while for me to learn that lesson, but now I find blogging much more fun since I’m not trying to fit a mould. Good luck with your next 100 posts!

    • Thank you! And you’re right…it IS more fun! I find I’m more creative and am looking forward to writing posts as opposed to just looking for things to write about.

      I’ve enjoyed reading your blog and look forward to your future posts!

  6. Congratulations! I can’t wait to look through your fave posts. I love finding out what people pick as their “faves.” Here’s to another 100, as Annmarie says!

Leave a Reply

