Banana and Cashew Recovery Oats

As I type this I’m eating a warm bowl of oatmeal, sipping a large cup of pumpkin chai tea from David’s Tea. and wearing sweat pants with fuzzy slippers.

I have a banana-nutmeg bread candle burning, the rain is splattering against my window, and I can hear homeless people arguing on the street below.

While the arguing gentlemen are nothing new, everything else signifies that fall is finally here, and I LOVE IT! This is my favourite favourite favourite FAVOURITE time of year. Yes I love being outside and yes I realize that being outside when it’s sunny is a little more enjoyable than being outside when it’s raining, but on these dreary dark days I’m so content to hide inside with my cozy clothes and some work.

This is the season of boots and sweaters and scarves and candles and I am not ashamed to admit that I am the stereotypical white girl that just loves PUMPKIN EVERYTHING ❤


10710806_10154610258885514_5006258904877733946_n
20 bucks says I’ll be rockin’ that outfit on the far right later this week. It’s not just a fashion (or lack of) statement; it’s a necessity. When the sidewalks are covered with leaves the leaves stick to my Lululemon pants so it’s 100% necessary that I stuff the bottoms of them into my Ugg boots 😉

All white girl things aside, today I’m especially thankful for this chilly weather because it was the first time in months I got to have warm oatmeal! Don’t get me wrong; I love overnight oats and I feel like my favourite concoction with peach and almond butter just wouldn’t work as well with warm oats.

But who doesn’t love a warm bowl of gooey, filling oats?

Now I BET those $20 I mentioned above that many of you are thinking “actually Ariana, I don’t love oatmeal.” Maybe it was “girrrrrrrl what the hell is wrong with you?! Ain’t nobody like them boring oats!” Or maybe it was “Ariana you’re crazy. Oats taste like *insert profane word of choice*.”

However strong your feelings of dislike for oats may be, let me try to change your minds 🙂

It’s unfortunate that oats have a reputation as being boring because really, the possibilities are endless! Think of all the different flavour combinations you can create with fruit, nut butters, seeds, coconut, and more! There are even savoury oatmeal dishes…check it out. I would have never thought to put gruyere and rosemary in with my apple oats, but it sounds intriguing…

So today I’d like to share with you a super satisfying oatmeal concoction that’s perfect to have post-workout! The carbohydrates in the oats and the banana will replenish your glycogen stores, and the banana has the added bonus of potassium, a mineral that helps our muscles contract in the most optimal manner. Chia seeds and cinnamon are great natural anti-inflammatories, something these legs need after a 15.5km run, the goji berries are powerful antioxidants, and the cashew butter provides plant-based protein and a whole lot of “yum”.

I used to feel really strongly about avoiding fats post-workout. “Fats slow the digestion process and my muscles need carbs and protein NOW for all the gains!” It makes sense that if fat slows down digestion then those things consumed with it would also be digested more slowly.

But scientific research backing this belief is mixed. As I’ve worked to change my nutrition habits these past couple of months I’ve noticed that not only has my ability to gain muscle not diminished since ditching my post-workout whey shake in favour of a fatty shake or bowl of oats, it’s actually improved. I’m not saying this is a direct result of these dietary changes, but it’s been nice to not have to suck back powdered milk and water as fast as possible in fear of losing all my muscle.

All in all, this bowl of awesomeness has a great blend of complex and simple carbohydrates, healthy fats, and protein. This is best consumed after an intense or long training session, and if you’re watching your weight I’d advise against consuming a bowl of this prior to sitting at a desk for eight hours. But if you just put your muscles through some real work then chow down and enjoy!

Banana & Cashew Recovery Oats 

Banana and Cashew Recovery Oats

Serves 1

You Will Need: 

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats (use certified gluten-free if gluten-intolerant)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • Cinnamon to taste
  • 1 tbsp goji berries
  • 1 small banana, sliced
  • 1 tbsp cashew butter
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk

Directions:

  1. Bring water to boil. Add oats, chia seeds, goji berries, and cinnamon
  2. Slowly stir the oats. I’ve found the best way to keep my oats nice and creamy is to continually stir them!
  3. As the water gets absorbed, add the almond milk a little at a time to prevent the deliciousness from sticking to the bottom of the pot
  4. After the oats are fluffy, berries are plump, and chia seeds are gelatinous (approximately 5 minutes) remove from heat and pour into a bowl
  5. Top with the cashew butter and banana slices, and add a little bit more almond milk until it reaches the consistency you like
  6. Devour and enjoy!

Nutritional Info: Calories: 421 Carbohydrates: 63g Fiber: 12g Protein: 14g Fat: 16g

What do you usually have after a workout? Are you in the “oatmeal is boring” category? If not, what’s your favourite oatmeal concoction? Comment below so I can give it a shot!

 

 

10 thoughts on “Banana and Cashew Recovery Oats

  1. Yum I love oatmeal. Happy that it’s my comfort food. There are so many things you can add to oatmeal. It’s like noodles for the Asians 🙂 The combinations are endless. Thanks for the recipe. When I’m in the rush in the morning, I put oats and other ingredients in a high quality thermos with boiling water. It will be ready when I reach to the office. Here is one of my favorite. It’s not creamy like oatmeal but if you like quinoa, you might enjoy this.
    http://janetandgreta.com/recipe/october-2013-newsletter-apple-cinnamon-breakfast-quinoa/
    Lien

  2. I love oatmeal. I eat it every day! Currently I’m putting wild blueberries and blackberries on it with some maple syrup. I have a serious addiction to maple syrup. Don’t tell me it’s bad for me because I’m going to eat it anyway.

Leave a Reply

