Seawheeze 2014 Recap!

Hello everyone!

I’m fresh off a 5 day weekend and am feeling so amazing after these past few days, minus the cold that decided to join me yesterday morning. I got sweaty, ate a lot of delicious food, accomplished a lot of things, and all in all got totally inspired to “carpe the fuck out of this diem” every damn day (courtesy of a pair of socks I saw yesterday).

Let’s take it back to Friday. I was not among the hundreds of people who were waiting in line at 2am for the Seawheeze store to open, so by the time I got there for package pick-up at around 1 the selection was pretty limited. Despite this I still managed to pick up a few cute shirts, a sweatshirt, and a pair of socks.

The beauty that was the Seawheeze Store

The beauty that was the Seawheeze Store

Between my purchases and the free swag, I still got a pretty decent haul

Between my purchases and the free swag, I still got a pretty decent haul

Some of this limited edition Seawheeze gear is going for like TRIPLE the price on Ebay. How crazy is this??

A lot of the runners were pretty upset with the way the store was handled this year; a 15-item limit was in place and if I’m not mistaken I think you were allowed to purchase 5 of the same item, which kind of does encourage re-selling. I get that people were pissed and felt that only the runners should have been allowed in for first dibs. But whether it’s a line full of runners or a line full of Ebay-ers, I’m not prepared to get up at 2am for some clothes so I’m not complaining πŸ™‚

I stuck around to enjoy the festivities at package pick-up a little longer this year than I did last year. I wanted to soak in as much of that beautiful weekend as possible! I waited in line for an hour to get a Seawheeze tattoo airbrushed on my back, ate a free popsicle, drank some free cold-brew coffee, and wandered around way more than a person probably should the day before running a half marathon.

The day ended with another sunset yoga session and a big steak with some potatoes. This is becoming my new favourite pre-race meal.

Sunset yoga

Before I knew it it was 4:45am and my alarm was buzzingΒ Led Zeppelin was singing “Good Times” to wake me up. I had debated for a few days about what I was going to eat for breakfast; I’d been doing the whole meat and nuts thing for a little over a month (you can read all about that here) and wasn’t sure if I should go with that or my usual pre-race breakfast of oatmeal.

In the end I opted to go with scrambled eggs and almonds, with some Vega Pre-Workout Energizer shortly before heading to the starting line. My decision was based on the fact that A) I successfully ran a 20km the week earlier on a chicken breast and hazelnuts, and B) I had no real expectations of this race, so if there was ever a race to try something new, this would be the one.

I also opted to use dates for mid-run fuel as opposed to my beloved Gu to see if it would alleviate the post-race stomach upset I always get. Spoiler alert: it didn’t. My hydration strategy was successful though. Drink as much water as humanly possible the day before the race (with a few electrolyte mixes thrown in here and there), then chug chug chug the morning of until 2 hours before starting time, then STOP. No more fluid until pre-workout and then no more after that until out on the course.Β No pee breaks necessary!

Either I’ve finally gotten used to these events after two years of running or I’ve given up hope on having a successful run with all these IT issues, but my pre-race nerves seem to have disappeared. The starting line was filled with stretching, selfies, frantically trying to get playlists in order, and more pictures.

Obligatory pre-race photo

The obligatory pre-race photo

 

As usual, Lululemon did a really great job with the course. There were cute umbrellas hanging from an underpass, people on strange bikes cheering us on, drag queens, mermaids, and a bunch of other people dressed as things that I had no idea what they were supposed to be, but looked cool anyway. There were great cheer stations and the energy was all-around fantastic.

After crossing the Burrard Bridge we headed up Cornwall before looping back towards the bridge. I dread that loop back, because that’s the exact spot my IT band first crapped out on me last year a few weeks before Seawheeze, and it’s the spot it gave out during Seawheeze last year too. So what did I do? Keep running of course. And what happened? It crapped out on me.

I was REALLY disappointed because it held up so well on declines the past couple of weeks, and I hadn’t been going much faster than I was while training. I’ve over-analyzed why this keeps happening and what my next plan of attack is so I’ll spare you that and save it for another post, but after my friends continued on and I was left to my own devices I was determined to stay focused and not let this thing get the best of me.

I used a walking break as an opportunity to take a selfie with some drag queens. I took my time to soak in all the beautiful Vancouver sun that’s soon going to turn into endless rain for a few months. And I caught some sea otter heads bobbing along by the edge of the Seawall.

The Queens of Seawheeze

The Queens of Seawheeze

I stuck with my 3 minutes running/1 minute walking intervals through most of the course and even though the pain was still there, it was substantially less than it was at BMO. Progress, right? Adrenaline kicked in right before the 19km mark so I picked up my pace and sprinted the last 2.1km. I finished with a chip time of 2 minutes less than BMO, which is kind of sort of okay considering there was a 10 minute bathroom break for a friend in there.

After getting my medal and a wicked Lululemon hat at the finish line, it was time for a feast and a shower. But since this was the Seawheeze party, the fun wasn’t over yet!

Seawheeze finish line

There was an outdoor festival, complete with food vendors, an artisan market, a trapeze, ANOTHER yoga session (yoga three days in a row is a record for me), plus an outdoor concert which I didn’t end up staying for. I met my Instagram buddy Richard who I met in person for the first time at last year’s Seawheeze and got my yoga on with him and his friends, laid in the grass, and then headed out for one more feast with the boyfriend before going to bed.

photo 2 (3)

Richard and Myself

Seawheeze Trapeze

Seawheeze Trapeze….was the rhyme a coincidence?

Seawheeze Yoga

After a quick solo tour of an exhibit I’d been wanting to see at the Vancouver Art Gallery (also known as VAG) and a lovely afternoon out with my mom and pop on Sunday, I felt totally fulfilled and no longer bummed out about my lack of out-of-town adventures this summer.

While sitting on the steps with Jordan outside the courthouse Saturday night as the sun was going down, chowing down on Chipotle with a hungry seagull in front of us and kids drinking beer behind us, I had one of those revelation moments.

I realized that as disappointed as I get about things when they don’t go as planned (as much of this summer has gone), as reactive as I first get when things upset me, and as far as I am from where I truly want to be in my life, I’m still pretty fuckin’ in love with life and everything it has to offer.

It was one of those “I love life so much that I just want to keep on living, but if I died right now I would go satisfied” moments. And it felt pretty cool.

Maybe it was all the yoga I did. Maybe it was some residual runner’s high. Or maybe there were some magic mushrooms in my veggie and rice bowl from Chipotle. I’m not sure what it was, but I’m not going to question it.

One last shot of this beautiful city I get to call home

One last shot of this beautiful city I get to call home

I’ll be taking a couple of weeks off running before I get back into this madness to train for the Rock n’ Roll half marathon in October, and this time I plan to step up my yoga game FOR REAL. I’ll also be gettin’ my fitness on in a whole new way, which I’ll share within the next couple of weeks.

Did you lovely people do anything this past weekend that left you feeling invigorated and energized? How about tired and ready for bed (because after walking 50k steps on Saturday, that’s totally how I felt at the end of the night!)? Ever had a life-altering revelation while eating Chipotle?Β 

16 thoughts on “Seawheeze 2014 Recap!

  1. I have never heard of Seawheeze before but I love all the clothes you bought and the event looks like a great time! Sorry you had issues with your IT band but it looks like you were still able to have fun & enjoy yourself! πŸ™‚ Great job!

    • It’s such a good race!! This was only its third year but it’s picked up in popularity SO much. Registration for next year is already on September 10! You should try to make it out one year…it’s so much more than just a half marathon πŸ™‚ And thank you! I’m not letting this thing get me down!!

    • Ooo yes you have to make it up one year! It’s SO much fun! It’s a really beautiful course too. If you’re thinking about running it next year, registration is already on September 10! Sorry about your shin pain; these annoying little injuries seem to be very common among many of the runners I talk to. We must all be a very tough bunch πŸ˜‰

  2. This race sounds awesome! And if you’re going to have a life-altering revelation while eating, Chipotle has got to be the best way to do it! πŸ™‚ I feel like life never goes how you planned but as long as you’re down for the ride you’ll be happy! At least that’s what I’m telling myself this week πŸ™‚

    • It was a lot of fun! And I agree…it was my first Chipotle experience and it didn’t disappoint πŸ˜‰

      I love your outlook! It’s true…things really are what we make of them. I hope you make this week a happy one!

  3. Sorry to hear you still have IT band issue. I hope it gets resolved soon for you! Glad you were still enjoying the race. Congrats on your accomplishment!

  4. Pingback: Go-Getter, Goal-Setter: Time to Totally Own September | happylife.healthylife

Leave a Reply

