Review of Lancome’s New Grandiose Mascara…Does it Pass the Sweat Test?

I received this product complimentary from Influenster for reviewing purposes, however all opinions expressed are 100% my own. You know I’d never lie to you πŸ™‚

Hey guys!

I’ve got something a little different for you today. I’ve recently teamed up with Influenster, a company that provides review opportunities for a variety of products. Given my line of work and my interests, I’ve been trying to establish myself as a fitness expert but somehow ended up being rated quite high with beauty products.

I don’t write about beauty products because, well..I don’t really use them that often πŸ˜› I try to avoid wearing makeup as much as possible, and my skin care routine consists of washing my face each morning and night. In my younger years I used to spend at least an hour dolling myself up before leaving the house,Β never wanting to leave “without my face on”.

As the years passed I slowly started to remove eye shadow from the equation, then eyeliner, then bronzer, and finally I became comfortable going out au naturel. I still wear make up when I go to work at the hotel (most of the time) and when I go out for a nice dinner (most of the time) because it’s what’s generally expected and apparently shows you take care of yourself or something.

But ladies, if you’re wearing makeup because you feel as though you need to hide behind something, I strongly encourage you to step out of your comfort zone and head out bare-faced. It’s totally liberating and takes way less time to get out the door. And besides. You’re beautiful. You have nothing to hide from. Yes, you! Own that shit!

Despite all this, when the opportunity to review Lancome’s new mascara, the Grandiose, arose I wasn’t going to say no!

Lancome's Grandiose

This mascara is different from others in than it has what they call a “swan neck” wand as opposed to a regular straight wand. Sounds elegant, right? It’s supposed to make it easier to hit every. single. lash. Helloooo flirty eyes!

I actually found the wand a little awkward to use at first (and get out of the tube as you’ll see below), but after a couple applications I got the hang of it. Check out my video below for the most exciting two minutes of your life, where I explain what exactly I look for in a mascara and to see what the finished product looks like.

So: the running verdict. Did it pass the test? Yes! I applied a second coat after the video to simulate my regular mascara-wearing ways and headed out for a run. It was in the mid 20’s, so as expected it was a sweaty run. I didn’t wear my usual headband to UP the sweaty face factor.

Pre-sweat and post-sweat. For some reason it seemed totally necessary to keep my mouth open while showing off the lashes.

Pre-sweat and post-sweat. For some reason it seemed totally necessary to keep my mouth open while showing off the lashes.

As you can see there were no raccoon eyes after the run, which has been a problem when I’ve worn makeup while working out in the past. As I tend to exercise in the morning this isn’t usually an issue, but on the rare occasion I work a morning shift and head to the gym after work I’ve always had to take my makeup off before gettin’ my sweat on.

While it passed the sweat test, it didn’t quite pass the clump test. Maybe I’m just not using this fancy swan wand right or maybe I’m applying too much, but I found my lashes did look a little clumpy and messy. My eyelashes are long and fine, so when I do wear mascara I like to get as much volume as possible. Maybe with a little more practice I’ll be able to get the hang of it, but at this point it hasn’t totally lived up to my expectations. After all, I didn’t look like Penelope Cruz after applying it πŸ˜‰

Lancome's Grandiose

If you have thicker lashes and are looking for something to add some definition and hold up during a workout, I’d definitely recommend the Grandiose for you. But for those of you like myself that are in need of a little more volume, I’m going to have to recommend against it. Passing the sweat test doesn’t quite justify the $35 price point in my books, so for now I’ll go back to my regular $7 brand.

So, my readers, when you’re in the market for a new product, what are some important things you look for? Do you ever have to base your makeup or clothing purchases on whether they’ll withstand your activity levels? Will you hate me if I continue to review more products like this? (Who knows, after giving this one half a thumbs down I may not get another opportunity πŸ˜‰ )

 

4 thoughts on “Review of Lancome’s New Grandiose Mascara…Does it Pass the Sweat Test?

  1. Ooooh I like to read a different side of Ariana. Although I don’t wear mascara (mine are not long enough), I do wear makeup on a daily basis. My choices are based on waterproof (eye liner only), SPF and natural ingredients for certain make ups such as foundation, powder and blush.
    You can convince me on fitness but there’s no way I step out of the door without make up πŸ™‚ except going for a run and to the beach which I’m about to do πŸ™‚

    • Oo yes SPF is SO important and admittedly is not something I ever think about when I’m purchasing makeup.

      I think you look beautiful and am confident that sooner or later you’ll be heading out for lunch bare- and fresh-faced πŸ˜‰ Enjoy the beach!!

Leave a Reply

