Meat and Nuts

Carnivorous Breakfast

Salmon, beef picadillo, an egg, and hazelnuts.

Canned tuna and walnuts.

A chicken thigh and walnuts.

Chicken breast and pecans.

Not only are these the most uncolourful plates I’ve consumed in a long time, they’re also the weirdest breakfasts I’ve had in probably my entire life.

If you recall from this post a little less than two months ago, I’ve been working with a holistic nutritionist. A stressed brain and digestive system left me tired, irritable, and generally unmotivated to do anything.

I’m happy to say that after 30 days of avoiding wheat (more or less), not combining protein and starchy carbs (more or less), not eating fruit with dairy (succeeded 100%!), and being less stressed out, I’m feeling better. Hooray!

I have to admit I haven’t really been working at being less stressed. With an extra day off and a slightly less crazy than usual clientele at the hotel, combined with the fact that I’m getting more efficient at all the training-related things I have to do, it sort of just happened. But hey, I’ll take it.

However I still don’t feel 100%. I went for a follow-up and after completing the questionnaire for the second time it was found that yes, there’s been an improvement, but there’s still work to be done.

Much to my disappointment it was time to go all-out with the digestive system tactics. No wheat. No dairy. No refined sugar. Still eat fruit on its own EXCEPT post-workout. No combining of starchy carbs and protein.

And the weirdest part: meat and nuts for breakfast.

No more pre-workout cookies for breakfast. No more pumpkin oatmeal muffins smothered with peanut butter. No more giant bowls of oatmeal with chia seeds and 4 different types of nut butters.

Just meat and nuts.

The idea behind this is meat doesn’t cause a sudden spike in blood sugar levels first thing in the morning, and the time-consuming digestion of nuts allows for blood sugar levels to stay stable for long periods of time.

Why is this important? HORMONES.

I’m going to do a series on different hormones and the roles they play so I’m not going to go further into detail here. But in addition to easing back on the foods that upset my digestive system, we are now focusing on using food to balance my hormones.

Hormones ecardBasically.

As much as I hate to admit it (I miss eating oatmeal for breakfast and I want some ice cream damnit), I’m feeling a lot better.

No more mid-day energy crashes. I don’t have the desire to eat everything in site 24 hours of the day anymore (just 85% of the things in front of me 18 hours each day). I’ve lost a little weight and I feel a lot better after eating.

It always amazes me how the foods we eat can have such a profound effect on our bodies. But I’m looking forward to continuing to eat this way. It took a bit of adjusting to begin with – I usually eat all my starchy carbs around my workouts, and since I’m no longer eating starchy carbs in the morning my pre-workout nutrition is a little off-point. But we’ll get there.

While in a couple weeks I’m technically “allowed” to begin incorporating wheat and dairy back into my diet and eating things other than meat and nuts for breakfast, I’m not sure if I will. It’s tough to say for sure and I’ll obviously continue to have the odd pastry or ice cream, but I really like feeling good! 😀

So my friends, tell me: what’s the weirdest thing you’ve ever eaten for breakfast? Have you ever cut some of your favourite foods out of your diet and actually enjoyed it (sounds absolutely crazy as I type it)? Do your hormones make you fucking nuts as well?

7 thoughts on “Meat and Nuts

  1. I can’t recall the weirdest thing I’ve eaten for breakfast. Probably a Magnum bar. I have cut caffeine out of my diet (except for what’s in choclate) and feel better for it. I love carbs and dairy too much to even try to cut those out. Don’t even get me started on hormones. Stupid hormones.

    • There you go with that Magnum again 😉

      My feelings about caffeine are similar to yours about carbs and dairy. I’ve cut back but I love coffee too much to give it up. Fortunately I’m not doing a full-on low-carb meal plan or anything. I still eat the same amounts, just at different times. Oatmeal for lunch has been fun.

  2. Pingback: Seawheeze 2014 Recap! | happylife.healthylife

Leave a Reply

