Delicious Dairy-Free Refined-Sugar Free Blueberry Popsicles

Wow!! What a week it’s been.

I honestly can’t believe it’s already Friday. This week hasn’t been super busy in terms of scheduling, but it’s felt hectic nonetheless.

The week was off to a bit of a different start because I had to work my usual Sunday off. Since it was a long weekend I ended up having Monday off from training so Jordan and I took a trip out to farm country to buy ALL the fruit.

All. The. Fruit.

All. The. Fruit.

See? I wasn’t joking. 10lb of blueberries, 5lb peaches, 3lb potatoes, 4lb cherries, 1lb strawberries, 6lb plums, veggies, and who knows how many pounds of figs fresh off my yiayia’s tree. I’ve never had these figs before and they are DEE-LICIOUS.

Being the fruit addict I am, it’s needless to say I was pretty stoked to have all these amazing nutrients in my apartment. I was a little worried at first that we might not make it through everything, but so far we’re on track 😉

So life was all fine and dandy until Tuesday morning rolled around and my bike got stolen 😦 My baby! I may have talked shit about how crappy she was, but she got me from A to B and never let me down, even during my triathlon.

Living downtown I see the signs of stolen bikes every day. A bike locked up with its tire missing, just a wheel locked to a post, and broken locks on bike racks. Because of this I walk out expecting my bike to be stolen every day; it’s just a natural part of living in the city I guess. But it totally SUCKS when it actually happens.

Tina and I the day I bought her...less than one year ago! And yes I named by bike...

Tina and I the day I bought her…less than one year ago! And yes I named my bike…

It doesn’t matter how big or small something is, when someone takes something that isn’t yours, it’s not only heartbreaking, but also a little infuriating. That was MY bike that I paid for with MY money. Not someone else’s to steal and sell for $25 worth of crack. Okay I may be making an unfair assumption. But that’s likely what happened to it.

I felt pretty sorry for myself for most of Tuesday and obsessively scoured Craigslist looking to see if someone was trying to sell it. I was in a sour mood and nothing was going to make me happy!

But when I woke up Wednesday morning I felt a bit different about the situation. It still sucked and I was still disappointed, but I found myself looking at the positive side of things without even trying. I felt grateful this happened to a less expensive bike and not to the more expensive racing bike I’ve been saving up for.

It’s taught me how I can be a little more careful with my next bike and some steps I can take to prevent a future theft and increase my chances of having a bike returned to me if another does get stolen.

And while I had been wishing bad karma to the person who did this all day Tuesday, on Wednesday I realized I didn’t need to wish him or her bad karma anymore. If you’re in a position where stealing other peoples’ belongings is your means to an end, you’re already in a pretty bad place.

I’ve been working to be less reactive about things for a LONG time. It’s always been my nature to flip out about something and let my feelings about it intensify as time goes on. This is one of the first times I “got over” something so quickly (I say that in quotations because I’m not totally over it, but I’m definitely not as upset anymore).

This is something I’ve been wanting! To just naturally find the bright side in things! And the funny thing is I found myself resisting these optimistic thoughts. I WANTED to be sad, damnit. Why did I have to be all logical and reasonable and shit?

It’s a strange world inside my mind and I may never understand it. But I resisted the urge to stay miserable and allowed those positive thoughts to continue flowing.

Now normally in cases like this I would drown my sorrows in ice cream, or at the very least a giant bowl of yogurt filled with an array of fruit and chocolate-y chips (I currently have butterscotch Chipits in my fridge and they are to die for).

But after a follow-up with my nutritionist last week, which I will get into in further detail next week, I am now on a no-dairy kick. Normally I’d think “no problem, coconut milk ice cream it is!” but unfortunately there’s no refined sugar on my current plan either.

So I had to get creative. Which wasn’t really that difficult with the 30+ pounds of fresh fruit I had in my fridge. While I have an ice cream maker, I didn’t want to have to wait for the bowl to freeze, for the mixture to cook and then cool, and THEN for the ice cream to set. I wanted something fast(ish).

So I busted out the popsicle molds I bought two years ago and made some dairy-free, sugar-free blueberry popsicles!

Dairy-Free Blueberry Popsicles

These guys are a great treat for a hot day and since they’re filled with natural ingredients and packed with antioxidants, you can feel good about indulging in one (or two 😉 )

Delicious Dairy-Free Refined-Sugar Free Blueberry Popsicles

You Will Need:

  • 1 cup blueberries
  • 1 cup almond milk (or other non-dairy milk if allergic to nuts)
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

To Create:

  1. Throw everything in a blender and blend until smooth
  2. Pour into popsicle molds, leaving about 1/2 inch at the top, then freeze for approximately 4 hours
  3. To remove from the popsicle mold, run under luke warm water for around 30 seconds. Devour and enjoy!

**These will probably make five popsicles. My mold only makes four so I poured the remainder in a glass and drank it as a smoothie, which was super delicious and refreshing.

So tell me readers, what’s your favourite summer treat your body and mind can feel good about? Ever had someone steal something from you so they could sell it for crack? (Again with the unfair assumptions.) 

9 thoughts on “Delicious Dairy-Free Refined-Sugar Free Blueberry Popsicles

  1. So much written in one blog. From stolen bike to Popsicle. I like your positive outlook. I’ve always taught my kids not to dwell on things, not to say that I don’t. But it’s doable when you put things in perspective. My favorite summer treat is a MacDonald vanilla ice cream cone. Yes happiness in an ice cream cone 🙂 I got my high heels stolen in the office last month…not enough that someone can sell them for crack fortunately 😉

  2. Sucks about your bike. I haven’t had one stolen fortunately, but I live in the middle of nowhere and they are always inside unless I’m riding one of them. I name my bikes too, but they’re boy’s names. I swear I eat enough dairy to make up for folks who can’t or don’t so Magnum dark chocolate ice cream bars are my fav’s. I don’t eat them often, but I sure enjoy them when I do!!

    • Oh boy. I have been craving a Magnum like you wouldn’t BELIEVE. They’ve been taunting me everywhere I go and this is just another instance. Eat an extra one for me 😉 Haha.

      That’s great you haven’t had a bike stolen! I bet if you live in a smaller town it would be pretty tough to get away with it. Someone would see you riding it!

Leave a Reply

