Super Simple Ginger Chicken Stir Fry

As much as I love to cook, I’m not very adventurous in the kitchen.

Something about spending the money and time to toy around with a recipe that could potentially taste like crap and be totally inedible doesn’t appeal to me. Sure, I play around with iced coffee, energy balls, and oatmeal. But when it comes to creating a full meal from scratch without any guidance, I get a little uneasy.

Scouring the internet for recipes is one of my favourite pastimes and I get super excited when I purchase a beautiful new cookbook. Why risk creating something horrible when I have all these delicious, tried-and-true recipes at my finger tips? At the very least, if they suck I can blame someone else.

I stepped out of my comfort zone last night and came up with a dish on my own. Time got away from me yesterday afternoon when I had planned on looking for a new dish to try, and having dragged myself to the gym at 4:00pm (I’m totally a morning exerciser) I didn’t want to give into my cravings for burgers, pancakes, pizza, or ice cream for dinner.

Stir frys are my “safe” food, and since I had some veggies in the fridge that needed to be eaten it seemed like a suitable choice for dinner. Now usually I like my stir frys basic. (By the way, I know I’m totally late on this but “basic bitch” is one of my new favourite terms.) But I felt like getting a little wild and trying something new.

I whipped up a super simple sauce of apple cider vinegar, coconut aminos, sesame oil, and fresh ginger, then poured a bit on some chicken breasts while they cooked in a frying pan. In the meantime I cut pretty much every green thing and a few orange and red things from my fridge. Celery being one of these things.

Whenever I’m cooking with celery I always take one extra stick to make ants on a log. Jordan missed out during his childhood and never experienced ants on a log until we met. So I feel as though it’s my duty as his partner in life to ensure he makes up for his lack of ants and logs during these later years of his life.

Now this story has a point here. As I was spreading peanut butter on celery, I had the genius idea to put peanut butter in the rest of the sauce! It looked scary but tasted great. Served over brown rice with a little salad on the side, this was the perfect meal that satisfied the taste buds but left me feeling good. And from start to finish it only took about 40 minutes!

Super Simple Ginger Chicken Stir Fry

photo (33)

You Will Need:ย 

  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tbsp coconut aminos
  • 1/2 tbsp sesame oil
  • 2 tsp fresh ginger
  • 1 tsp natural peanut butter
  • Approx. 1lb chicken breast, sliced
  • Veggies of choice: I used 1/4 onion, 2 carrots, 2 stalks of celery, 1 zucchini, 1 green bell pepper, 1 mini red pepper, & a handful of green beans
  • Optional: brown rice, to serve

What to Do:

  1. Whisk the fist 5 ingredients in a small bowl and set aside
  2. Heat a frying pan over medium heat. Place the chicken pieces in the pan and pour 1-2 tbsp of sauce over top
  3. Flip chicken after 3-5 minutes. As the sauce begins to dry, pour in a small amount of water and mix it up so it gets sauce-like again to deglaze the pan (after typing that last bit I figured I should find out what this process is actually called)
  4. Once the chicken is cooked, add carrots and onion to pan, adding more water as necessary
  5. After 5 or so minutes add the rest of the veggies, then the rest of the sauce. If you’re impatient you can put a big lid over the pan so the veggies steam and therefore cook faster
  6. By now you should have already started cooking the brown rice if you’re going to use it. Sorry. I forgot about that part
  7. Once the veggies are cooked to your liking, place the chicken back in the pan and mix it allllll up
  8. Serve over brown rice and enjoy!

What’s your “safe” recipe? Are you just as scared about ruining dinner as I am?

10 thoughts on “Super Simple Ginger Chicken Stir Fry

  1. I’m mostly lazy so I nearly always just cook some chicken or salmon up on Sunday so I have a few days worth and then stir fry up some veggies. Currently I am using all my garden veggies and I planted a ton of kale so everything is kale and carrots, kale and snow peas, kale and broccoli, kale and beats or kale and all those others piled together.

    • Awesome! I usually do the Sunday meal prep thing but haven’t in a month or so just cause I’ve had a tiny bit of extra time on my hands and I love to cook. I’m jealous of your garden’s offerings; it all sounds delicious!

    • This is a great recipe for meal prep! This made four servings (you could probably get 5; my boyfriend and I eat a lot haha) and you can easily double the recipe to give you a few meals throughout the week.

      I hope you enjoy it! Thanks for stopping by ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

