I’m A #SweatPink Ambassador!

photo (29)

I’m sure you’re wondering what the heck that means, so let me explain 🙂

#SweatPink is a movement started by cousins Jamie Walker and Alyse Mason Brill, founders of the online fitness community Fit Approach. On Fit Approach you’ll find inspiring articles written by others as they tackle their fitness journeys, healthy recipes, and a listing of fitness events that are goin’ down, but unfortunately are not within my vicinity. There’s also an online store where you can buy some cute swag.

This is what Fit Approach says with regards to the #SweatPink movement:

We believe that kicking ass is best done in pretty shoes. We’ve learned that real women sweat, and sweat hard. We know that assertiveness, strength, and ambition are the ultimate feminine qualities. We concede that sometimes it takes hours to get ready, but we’re also no strangers to just rolling out of bed and going. We’re convinced that we run faster in pink shoelaces. We believe in pushing ourselves, and we believe in giving ourselves a break, too. We’re all about the rush of endorphins and the thrill of the challenge. We’re all for looking great and feeling even better. We’re committed to finding our best fit, and making it stick.

I couldn’t have said it better myself. This is everything I stand for as a fitness enthusiast and Personal Trainer, and these are beliefs that I hope to instill in my clients and other women around me. To me, #SweatPink means confidence, hard work, balance, and being true to yourself. And if being true to yourself means wearing pink shoelaces while deadlifting 150lb, then GO FOR IT.

I spent a lot of years being far too concerned with what others thought and tried to hide who I really was. I thought I needed to be loud and outgoing. I thought if I wore pink it would clash with the heavy metal I was listening to on my iPod. And as much as I hate to admit it, there was a time where I thought lifting weights would make me look like a man. I was too scared to go in the weight room anyway, so I stuck to the safety of the cardio machines and circuit training stations.

It’s taken some time, and I still have those insecure moments where I wonder if others are judging me, but for the most part I can honestly say I don’t give a damn about what people think about me these days. If I wanna rock my pink tank top, pink shoes, pink water bottle, and pink headphones while I go smash my legs in the squat rack, then you bet your ass I will. Likewise, if I rolled out of bed and headed to the gym while still half asleep and found myself starving on the way home from my workout, I’ll shamelessly walk in the grocery store a sweaty and probably smelly mess to grab some fuel.

Being a Sweat Pink Ambassador, it’s my responsibility to share my passion for health and fitness with those around me and to inspire those around me to embrace physical activity and love their bodies for what they can do. Basically everything I’ve been trying to do the past couple of years….except now I just have a cool title 😉

Ladies, I invite you to #SweatPink with me! Toss out the belief that we have to either be feminine or be sporty. If you’ve always wanted to play on a recreational softball team, then DO IT. If you’ve always wondered what it felt like to press a barbell over your head, then DO IT. If you’ve ever wanted to sign up for a 5k, a 10k, a half marathon, or even a triathlon, then DO IT.

Go out and get dirty. Get sweaty. Grunt as you push those heavy weights and during your last few reps make a face that looks like this:

Wear pink if you want to. Stop hiding behind black. Go buy that cute Lululemon outfit you’ve been wanting but have been waiting until you lose a couple more pounds first. Do whatever it is that your heart wants to do AND DON’T GIVE A CRAP ABOUT WHAT ANYONE ELSE THINKS. You deserve to feel happy and confident. And if there are things you know will bring you both but you’ve been putting them off or ignoring them for whatever reason, it’s time to stop. You have one life and one chance to create happiness for yourself.

Men, this goes for you too. Maybe you’ve been hiding your undying love for the elliptical because you believe men are only supposed to lift weights. Maybe every time your girlfriend listens to Katy Perry’s “Roar” you feel an insatiable urge to pound your chest and take on the world. Maybe you wanna wear pink too! We ALL deserve to be happy, to not feel the need to live up to stereotypes, and to not be afraid of who we are. So go on and get out there friends. It’s a new day, a new chance to do great things, and a new chance to #SweatPink.

If you’d like to learn more about the Fit Approach Community and the #SweatPink movement head over to the Fit Approach website. To my warrior women I train, I have some pink shoe laces for you so stay tuned!

I want to hear from you, both women and men: what are you going to do today that’s going to bring you happiness and confidence?

 

 

6 thoughts on “I’m A #SweatPink Ambassador!

  1. I absolutely love this!!! I’m going to continue on my journey and not care what others think of me, I know who I am and I know what I want outta life and I’m shooting for the stars! I used to care about what others thought, but it ate away at my confidence and happiness! I’m gonna do my own thing and live a radical life!!

Leave a Reply

