Wheelchairs, Pancakes, and a New Training Program!

I need a wheelchair. Or better yet, an electric scooter so my arms don’t have to do anything either.

Yup. The gym has officially kicked my ass this week. Here I was, all excited to get back into lifting and to build back some of the muscle and strength I lost while training for BMO. Annnnd now I can barely lift my arms to take a sip of water. I have to ease myself down onto the toilet when I have to pee.

#TheStruggleIsReal

Regardless of the DOMS I’m experiencing, I’m super pumped to be back in the weight room! I of course still did some strength training a during my BMO training, but it focused more on improving my running as opposed to improving my beefy-ness. I’m back to doing a 4-day split with some HIIT. I’m trying to stay away from steady state cardio for the next little while and am having a lot of fun swinging, slamming and punching things to get my heart rate goin’ πŸ™‚

The program I’m doing isn’t one that I’ve created. Even trainers need a trainer every now and then πŸ˜‰ After putting myself through a rigorous training regime the past 12 weeks and with another one coming up in a month or so, I wanted to give myself a little bit of a mental break and just do as I was told. I don’t know about you, but I find it a bit easier to get things done when someone else is “telling” me to do them, as opposed to things I tell myself I need to do.

In Monday’s post (which you can find here) I mentioned that I have some exciting news, so it’s time to share! As of tomorrow we are six weeks away from the first day of Summer (I’m resisting the urge to make a “where has the time gone?!” remark here) and I know a lot of you are steppin’ up your fitness game to get your bikini bod ready. Some people go on restrictive diets or do tons and tons of cardio in an effort to lose weight so they can look good in a bikini.

But what does that do for your health? How much energy do you have left to do things other than lie in the sun in a bikini? Are you really learning the skills to live a life that allows you to look good AND feel good?

In my opinion, no.

Take a moment here to envision your ideal Summer. What do you see yourself doing? For me, I see myself doing a lot of outdoor activities with my friends; multiple trips up the Grouse Grind, some kayaking and stand up paddle boarding, a few hikes through the North Shore mountains, and of course hangin’ out on the beach and feeling comfortable with my body.

These things can’t be achieved with quick fixes. Improving your energy and maintaining a healthy body composition requires a change in lifestyle. It involves a bit of knowledge when it comes to nutrition, a bit of planning when it comes to grocery shopping and dining out, and an understanding that we do not need to have a six-pack and single digit body fat levels to feel good about ourselves.

I’ve put together a six week program to help you prepare for the best Summer of your life where you’ll have the energy to do the things you want to do, and feel good while doing them! Check out my video below for some more information. I’m hoping to have it available for purchase on here by next Tuesday, so keep an eye out for it! πŸ˜‰

An important part of living a balanced, healthy life is enjoying the foods you eat. At the end of the day food is meant to fuel us; I eat multiple meals in a week solely for the energy they provide as opposed to the way they taste. Every once in awhile you’ll catch me wincing as I gulp back a not-so-tasty but oh-so-nutritious green smoothie, and occasionally when I sit down for my dinner at work I’d give ANYTHING to not eat the chicken breast and vegetables that are staring back at me. But I remind myself of the nutrients that I’m getting and the fact that there will always be time for indulgences, and suddenly it doesn’t seem so bad.

But when I can combine function with taste when it comes to food, I’m one happy camper! After yesterday’s leg day all I wanted was pancakes. Big, fluffy pancakes full of sugar, white flour, and maybe some blueberries too. But I knew those wouldn’t make me feel so hot, so I decided to whip up a batch of Tone It Up’s protein pancakes so I could still satisfy my pancake craving without breaking my calorie budget or feeling like a bag of crap.

Image

These babies did not disappoint. Topped with a sauce made from peanut flour and almond milk and surrounded by chopped strawberries, this was just what I needed to replenish my body’s carbohydrate stores and give me a good shot of protein. As I mentioned before, this pancake recipe comes from the Tone It Up girls so I can’t take credit for it, but I thought I’d still share it with you lovely people!

You Will Need:
1 scoop protein powder – I used Pro Line Vanilla Whey Isolate; no artificial sweeteners and 31g of protein!
1/4 cup egg whites
2 tbsp almond milk – I haven’t tried this with other forms of non-dairy milk, but I’d imagine it would still work!
1 tbsp ground flax seed
As much cinnamon as your heart desires
1/2 medium banana

Instructions:
1. Heat a small amount of oil in a medium frying pan over medium heat – I used coconut oil
2. Combine all of the above ingredients except the banana in a medium mixing bowl and mix well.
3. Mash the banana into the batter.
4. Cook like regular pancakes! You can make one big pancake, or if you’re a volume eater like me, you can make many small pancakes πŸ™‚

For the peanut butter sauce I used two tbsp of Just Great Stuff powdered peanut butter. This is just peanuts that have been ground and de-fatted, with a tiny amount of coconut sugar added for sweetness. I mixed this with 1 tbsp of almond milk and drizzled it over top of the pancakes so it got all sexy-like.

Do you ever find yourself craving odd things during or after a workout? Have you ever baked with protein powder? And what’s one awesome thing you want to do this Summer? GIVE ME ALL THE DEETS!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Wheelchairs, Pancakes, and a New Training Program!

  1. hahaha, I can totally relate to how hard it is to sit down the day after a hard leg workout. Ouch!
    Cool video – great to hear what my blogging friend’s voice sounds like! One tip (I’m a video producer) – when recording video with an iphone, turn it sideways so you don’t get those black bars on the side. Good luck with your program!!
    I almost always crave tacos after a long run! What’s the worst is on a run and you smell something cooking that makes you want to stop and go eat it!!!

    • Thanks for the tip!! I’m a total noob when it comes to filming (you could never tell though, right? πŸ˜‰ ) but I hope to do more so tips are greatly appreciated πŸ˜€

      Yum tacos!!! There’s a bakery on one of my regular running routes and it smells soooo delicious when I run by in the mornings. I always envision having my post-run meal there.

  2. I crave these jalapeΓ±o stuff olives after long runs – likely the sodium. I also smelled bread baking when I was running the BMO and that made me want bread really really bad. One awesome thing I want to do is SUP with my dog. I don’t think she’ll sit still or tolerate it, but that would be wicked cool. Those pancakes look amazing!

Leave a Reply

