How to Avoid Completely Falling Off the Wagon

Friday again!!

I feel like I just finished writing last week’s post! I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, it never ceases to amaze me how fast time flies. Needless to say I failed at giving you all the fascinating details of my training and nutrition this week 😉 Since I have important stuff to get into I won’t fully go into detail, but this was my final week of training with a body part split for the next few months. It’s been a crazy busy week, which is becoming increasingly more common for me these days, so I didn’t get to lift for as long as I’d have liked but I still managed to get at least a few sets of each workout completed.

Food-wise things have been a little more challenging this week. Tomorrow is the last day of my Wild Rose-inspired cleanse, and on Monday my cravings were through the roof. A Boston Brute sandwich from Boston Pizza, ice cream, the quinoa cookies that have been haunting me from my cupboard, and peanut butter truffles were all I could think of. We got some new cat food which I swore smelled like hickory barbecue potato chips. Jordan insists it smells like cat food.

Despite the intense cravings these last few days I’ve managed to not cheat myself too much. I broke the “no more than 2 cups of coffee per day rule” and had a third, which my co-worker had accidentally put cream and sugar in. I only took a few sips but the sugar still made a noticeable impact; I felt nauseous and anxious for a good hour. By yesterday morning the lack of animal protein had got to me. I don’t know how you vegetarians do it. I tried my best to get as many plant-based sources as possible, but I could definitely feel that I had fell short. A headache and an inability to think properly led me to a smoothie with some Vega Sport added in, which definitely helped.

Anyways, let’s get onto today’s Fit Tip! Last week I wrote about how you can create your own workout schedule and a plan you can stick to. This week I’d like talk a bit about what happens if you don’t stick to your plan 100%. I am a huge planning nerd. I know exactly how many minutes it’s going to take me to make coffee, get dressed, walk to my usual locations around the city, that kind of thing. On extra busy days I try to have things planned out by the minute.

But every so often things don’t go as planned. An appointment takes longer than expected, an unexpected family commitment arises, a shift at work changes…there are things beyond our control that can throw our schedules out the window and test our patience and willpower.

Just because you had to stay late at work today and skip your workout, does that mean you should skip the gym every other day for the rest of the week? Since you were pulled out to lunch with co-workers to a place that had nothing to offer that was in line with your goals, should you just eat garbage for the rest of the day?

NO.

One misstep is no reason to sight of the big picture. I’ll even be bold here and say that TWO missteps are no reason to give up. If you fall off the wagon, stop and do a check (check yo’self before you wreck yo’self?). What caused you to act outside your goals? Was it something beyond your control, or was it due to a lack of planning or motivation?

If it was one of those situations I mentioned above and there was nothing you could do, then don’t sweat it. Move on and get right back to the grind. But let’s say you identify something you could have done differently. Now what? Do you beat yourself down, tell yourself you’re powerless, and give up all hope?

Hmmmm. No.

It’s likely that if you know you had other options now, you knew you had other options when you made the decision in the first place. So why did you choose to put yourself in your current situation? Maybe it was a special occasion, maybe you were extra stressed, or maybe you’ve been ultra strict with your diet and fitness regime and just needed a break. (Speaking of being strict, my lack of peanut butter consumption on this cleanse has led to almost 1/2 a jar of almond butter gone within a week) If you feel like this wasn’t necessarily a valid reason, keep this moment stored in the back of your head and aim to do things differently next time.

But there are times where you just need to cut yourself some slack (like I am with my almond butter escapades). As dedicated and iron-willed as we’d like to think we are, we are still human and we still have emotions. Sometimes you just have to go through the motions, and if that means skipping the gym for a week and eating crap to remind yourself why you do these things that make you feel good, then so be it. I’m not saying you should let loose all the time if you have a goal you’re really passionate about, but sometimes we need to step away from a goal to remind ourselves why we were passionate about it in the first place.

A day or two off your plan, or even a week for that matter, isn’t going to set you too far back. Just like making smart food choices and exercising for a day or two isn’t going to make you drop those 10 pounds you want to lose. It’s time to lose the all-or-nothing thinking. Getting fit, eating healthy, and becoming a better person doesn’t have an end point. There are certainly markers along the way, but striving for and maintaining these habits is a lifetime process. Hate to break it to ya, friends. So slow down and enjoy the ride, and don’t lose sight of the big picture just because of one off day.

Plans are great but they aren’t the be-all and end-all of our lives. Creating that plan puts you on the right track to success though. If after reading my previous post you’re still finding it difficult to create an exercise plan for yourself I may have something that can help! If you’ve been reading my blog for a little while you’ll know that I sell training programs for the cheap on here. Since tomorrow is a new month I have a new program to share! March’s program focuses on keeping our heart rates high to burn fat while we continue to build muscle. I’ll be selling February and March together as an 8-week muscle-building and fat-loss program for $15, or you can purchase March on it’s  own for $10. I may even give one away 😉

Anyways, I’d like to know: how do you feel when you temporarily fall of the wagon? Does it seem like the end of the world, or are you able to pick yourself back up fairly easily? Do you ever find it necessary to step back from your goals for a moment?

4 thoughts on “How to Avoid Completely Falling Off the Wagon

    • I agree! I don’t necessarily like referring to them as “cheat” meals or “cheat” days, but it’s always refreshing to step back and indulge for moment. Thanks for popping by again! 🙂

Leave a Reply

