Tales From the Carb Load, Pt. 2

Happy Friday everyone!

The weekend is upon us and the sun is finally shining bright. When I lived in Manning Park a few years ago I always used to think about how happy all the animals must have been when the snow started melting and they could start enjoying the greenery the park had to offer. Since moving to Vancouver I’ve started to feel the same about its inhabitants and the rain disappearing. It’s not like I used to live far from here; being only a 45-minute drive away it’s not like the weather was much different in White Rock. But this city definitely feels like it comes alive once the months of cold and rain start to subside. The birds are chirping, there’s more people out walking, and on my morning runs instead of being greeted with a nod of acknowledgement that “yes, we are the few crazy people running in the rain at the crack of dawn” I’m now greeted with a cheery “Morning!”

Okay, enough crazy talk. This is going to be short and sweet because I’ve got shit to do and carbs to eat.

Day 2 felt a lot more successful than Day 1. I made an effort to consume larger quantities of carbs at breakfast and lunch so I wasn’t left happily stuffing my face scrambling to hit my carb goal at 10pm. I went slightly over my target in all three macronutrients, which I think is okay since I worked out. We’ll go with that anyway. But having not gone out for a meal made it a lot easier to control my fat intake. Still no peanut butter though 😦 BUT I have managed to work a half tablespoon of almond butter into a banana and jam wrap today, and I WILL get that half tablespoon come hell or high water.

The fluff is in full effect today, so as nice as it is to eat bagels and rice and every other carb under the sun, I’m looking forward to going back to eating normally tomorrow. As I’ve mentioned before, I always track how much protein, carbs, and fat I consume every day, but rarely do I fret about going over or under my target. If it happens it happens. But this is like a science experiment, and what kind of scientist would I be if I didn’t pay close attention to all of these things? Ahh I can’t wait to have a relaxing day in like…9 days 😐

Now, this recipe share I had promised! This is a newer recipe for raisin spice granola bars from the Tone It Up girls, so it’s not my own. I did change some of the measurements around to meet my carb-y needs though. You can find the original recipe here.

Image

Fat-Reduce, Carb-Increased Raisin Spice Granola Bars
adapted from Tone It Up

You Will Need:

  • 1.5 cups oatmeal
  • 1 scoop protein powder (I used Perfect Fit because I have a few samples, but I’m sure any protein powder will work…if you have any plant-based proteins use those)
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 3 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp ground cinnamon
  • 3/4 ground nutmeg
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup chopped dates
  1. Preheat oven to 350F and mix oats, coconut, walnuts and seeds and toast for 15 minutes, stirring once.
  2. Combine protein, spices, salt, raisins, and dates. Make sure the raisins and dates are covered in the mixture!
  3. Heat, but don’t boil, coconut oil. vanilla, syrup, and honey in a small saucepan.
  4. Turn oven down to 300F and combine all ingredients so they are evenly coated. Press HARD into a square baking sheet and bake for 20 minutes.
  5. Cool 2-3 hours then cut.
  6. Eat and enjoy! 🙂

These are absolutely delicious! They turned out pretty crumbly, likely because of the extra oats. I cut them into 10 squares and about 6 of them held their shape, the rest I broke into large chunks of granola to top on cereal and yogurt.

Nutritional Info Per Serving (1/10 of recipe): 180 calories, 24grams carbohydrates, 10grams fat, 5grams protein, 5grams sodium, 3grams fiber.

Leave a Reply

